School of Communications

Dean: Professor Ford

Associate Deans: Professor Gaither, Associate Professor Grady

Communications Department Chair: Associate Professor Gisclair

Associate Department Chairs: Associate Professors Costello and Lellis

Professors: J. Anderson, Barnett, Copeland (A.J. Fletcher Professor), Makemson, B. Miller, Parsons

Associate Professors: B. Anderson, Bravo, Bush, N. Clark, Hannam, Hatcher, Haygood, Lackaff, Landesberg, B. Lee, Motley, T. Nelson, Padgett, Scott, Skube, Sturgill, Triche, Xu

Assistant Professors: Bockino, Fadaam, Haq, Hill, Hwang, W. Johnson, Kass, Lashley, Luchsinger, McMerty, Moner, Negin, O'Boyle, Osman, Stansberry, Strauss, Tonkins, Walsh

Senior Lecturer: Piland

Lecturers: Furnas, Saltz, Vincent, Witt

Visiting Associate Professor: Doorley

Instructors: Booker, Davis, Desalu, C. Donohue, Eisner, Fox, Lavoie, Rodenbough, Sabo, Tosczak


The School of Communications prepares students to think, write and produce meaningful information in a digital and global age. Communications students choose among five majors that share a common core curriculum:

Consult each major program of study for specific course requirements.

Courses in the major are combined with a liberal arts education to provide students with breadth of knowledge and insight about the world around them.

Outside of class, students may participate in the student news organization (Elon News Network), entertainment programming (Elon Student Television), a radio station (WSOE-FM), the university yearbook (Phi Psi Cli), a student cinema organization (Cinelon), a documentary production program (elondocs), a full-service student agency (Live Oak Communications), and a student sports production unit (Maroon Sports).

The School of Communications is nationally accredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC). Elon University is one of only 18 private universities in the nation to have an accredited communications school.

For all Communications majors:

ACCREDITATION RULE: All students must complete at least 72 credit hours outside of Communications (COM).

REQUIRED INTERNSHIP: All students must secure and complete an off-campus professional internship in their discipline of study with the guidance and approval of the school's internship director. Students enroll in COM 381 for one or two credit hours, based on at least 80 work-hours per credit hour. Students may apply up to a total of four credit hours of COM 381 toward graduation. (COE Co-op Work Experience credit does not count toward the major or toward the 72 hours required outside of Communications.)

REQUIRED MINOR, DOUBLE MAJOR OR SEMESTER ABROAD: To promote academic depth, all students must complete a minor or double major outside of Communications (COM) or complete a semester abroad (totaling 12 credit hours or more) in an Elon-approved program. Study USA programs do not qualify as a semester abroad.

DOUBLE MAJOR OPTION: To encourage students to consider a double major, eight hours of COM electives are waived for any student completing a double major outside of Communications (COM). For example, a student double majoring in journalism and history would need a total of 44 COM hours instead of the normal 52 hours. This option is not available for those completing a BFA in Cinema and Television Arts.

Powered by SmartCatalog IQ